Wednesday, May 8, 2024 1:37:52 AM

windows 8.1 osk.exe virtual keyboard

9 years ago
#1887 Quote
Installed the trial, managed to do everything I wanted.  Then decided to create a shortcut to run windows 8.1 virtual keyboard, system32/osk.exe. Then put it in kiosk mode, worked great.  Then I started playing with features, at some point selected advanced UI mode.  When I put it in kiosk mode, instantly crashed on startup of the kiosk profile.  In fact couldn't login.  Luckily was able to shift + restart, I had unchecked no system reboot option.  Managed to get Windows into restore mode and went back to before I installed the secure lockdown, lost about 4 hours of work.  Anyways, tried to remove software cleanly, including main registry settings.  Reloaded software, used it for a day, virtual keyboard still working.  Decided to tighten down configuration settings.  Went into kiosk mode, had error before shutdown this time.  The keyboard shortcut no longer worked, it's like the permissions in the kiosk mode are screwed up.

When not in kiosk mode, osk still works, but when lockdown, it is either blocked or simply can't run.  This is a real pisser because my system is supposed to be a touchscreen kiosk with no physical mouse or keyboard.  Then I downloaded Inteset's keyboard utility.  It works, tell it to run on startup and login and to never shutdown.  What's funny is that it looks just like osk.exe (windows on-screen keyboard).  Anyways, in kiosk mode, on startup comes right on like it should.  However if you hit the "X" and close it, it stays close, tries to restart, but can't.  You see the cursor become busy every few seconds trying to turn it back on, but it never comes back on.  But then I do a control-alt-delete and the keyboard comes right back.  Hit the "X" again, keyboard gone again.  Amazing how it works half-ass.   Meanwhile the shortcut I originally created pointing to osk.exe has never work again.